How to Write a Book series

Typewriter keys

The How to Write a Book series was originally published in The Irish Times over 12 weeks, and covered various aspects of fiction writing. Many writers – among them winners of the Man Booker Prize, Betty Trask Award, John Llewellyn Rhys Prize, National Book Award, McArthur Fellowship, BGE Irish Book Award Winners and Guardian First Book Award – kindly gave of their time and experience. The series featured advice from Ron Rash, Deborah Levy, Donal Ryan, George Saunders, Irvine Welsh, Paul Murray, Karen Joy Fowler, Eimear McBride, Ross Raisin,  Nuala Ní Chonchúir, Joseph O’Connor, Willy Vlautin, Emma Donoghue, John Banville, Catherine O’Flynn, Paul Lynch, Evie Wyld, Dave Lordan, Tana French, Jon McGregor, Lia Mills, June Caldwell, Sam Lipsyte, JoJo Moyes, Kevin Barry, Pat McCabe, John Connolly, Liz Nugent, Rachel Kushner, Peter Murphy, Jessie Burton, John Kelly, Justin Cartwright, Jo Baker, Niamh Boyce, Lee Brackstone, Alex Bowler, Francis Bickmore, Sallyanne Sweeney, Marianne Gunn O’Connor and Sheila Crowley.

Introduction to the series

Week 1: Ideas and Inspiration

Week 2: Form – novel or short story?

Week 3: Characters

Week 4: Plot

Week 5: Dialogue

Week 6: Structure

Week 7: Setting and Sense of Place

Week 8: Tone, Voice and Point of View

Week 9: Research

Week 10: Language and Style

Week 11: Editing and Redrafting

Week 12: Find an Agent

Pin It on Pinterest